During Artissima 2016 international juries awarded seven prizes to participating artists and galleries.

Established in 2015 in collaboration with Camera – Centro Italiano per la Fotografia, the Reda Prize is awarded to a young artist whose research explores the photographic medium.

In 2016 the prize was awarded to Joanna Piotrowska presented by the gallery Madragoa (Lisbon) in the New Entries section.

The jury:
Tobia Bezzola, Museum Folkwang, Essen
Reinhard Braun, Camera Austria, Graz
Francesco Zanot, Camera – Centro Italiano per la Fotografia, Torino
Giovanna Silva, Humboldt Books, Milano

The Sardi per l’Arte Back to the Future Prize, in partnership with the Sardi per l’Arte Foundation, is awarded to the gallery with the best exhibition project in terms of historical relevance and presentation of the booth.

In 2016 the prize was awarded to Galerie in situ – Fabienne Leclerc (Paris) for its presentation of the work of Lars Fredrikson.

The jury:
Daniel Baumann, Kunsthalle Zurich
Christine Macel, Musée National d’Art Moderne – Centre Pompidou, Paris | Venice Biennale (2017)
Joanna Mytkowska, Museum of Modern Art, Warsaw

The illy Present Future Prize, backed by illycaffè for 15 years, is awarded to an artist participating in the Present Future section.

In 2016 the Prize has been awarded to Cécile B. Evans, presented by Galerie Barbara Seiler with the work What the heart wants, 2016. The jury also awarded two special mentions: the first one to Renato Leotta presented by galleries Fonti (Napoli) and Madragoa (Lisbon); the second one to the artistic duo, Body by Body, in the booth of gallery Château Shatto (Los Angeles).

The jury:
Carolyn Christov-Bakargiev, Castello di Rivoli Museo d’Arte Contemporanea – GAM, Rivoli-Torino
Bart van der Heide, Stedelijk Museum, Amsterdam
Nicoletta Fiorucci, Fiorucci Art Trust, London

The Owenscorp Prize is awarded to a recently established gallery participating in the New Entries section to recognise its commitment to seeking new talents.

In 2016 the Prize has been awarded to Cavalo gallery (Rio de Janeiro).

The jury:
Emma Lavigne, Centre Pompidou-Metz, Metz | Biennale de Lyon (2017)
Jose Roca, FLORA ars+natura, Bogotà
Kitty Scott, Art Gallery of Ontario, Toronto | Liverpool Biennial (2018)
& Michèle Lamy


The Prix K-Way Per4m is awarded to the most significant performance work among those presented on the Per4m stage, and it has been established thanks to the attention K-Way® pays to this form of experimentation.

The 2016 edition of the Prix K-Way Per4m went to Juliette Blightman (Farnham, England, 1980), presented by Galerie Isabella Bortolozzi (Berlin), with the performance Now, Soon, Wait (2016).

The jury:
Franz Bernardelli, independent curator, Torino
Ruth Estevez, REDCAT, Los Angeles
Silvia Fanti, Xing, Bologna
Filipa Ramos, Art Agenda, London

A team of designers will select a talent participating in the fair to be supported in the realization of a forthcoming project. 

In 2016, the Prize has been awarded to Giorgio Andreotta Calò, presented by Sprovieri gallery (London).

The jury:
Massimo Orsini, CEO, Mutina, Modena
Patricia Urquiola, architect and designer, Milano
Gianluigi Ricuperati, writer and creative director, Domus, Torino
Marco De Vincenzo, designer, Roma

The Ettore Fico Foundation Prize, established by the Ettore Fico Foundation in 2009, is awarded to an artist among those exhibiting at Artissima in every section.

In 2016 the Prize was awarded to Gian Maria Tosatti, presented by Lia Rumma gallery in the Main section.

The jury:
Andrea Busto, MEF – Museo Ettore Fico, Torino
Letizia Ragaglia, Museion, Bolzano
Andrea Viliani, MADRE, Napoli
Renato Alpegiani, collector, Torino

Leave Comment